Second Call for Papers: the Workshop on Stylistic Variation at EMNLP 2017

The overall goal of this workshop is to bring together a diverse collection
of researchers who encounter stylistic variation directly or indirectly in
their work, identifying joint challenges and future directions.

Two of the overarching questions that motivate this workshop are:
1. to what extent it is possible or desirable to go beyond superficial,
uninterpretable, task-specific stylistic features to deeper, broader, more
systematic, and more psychologically-plausible conceptualizations of
stylistic variation
2. to what extent recent advances in related areas such as distributional
semantics can be applied to better capture stylistic variation.

For purposes of the workshop, “stylistic variation” includes variation in
phonological, lexical, syntactic, or discourse realization of particular
semantic content, due to differences in extralinguistic variables such as
individual speaker, speaker demographics, target audience, genre and so on. A
(non-exhaustive) list of topics of interest follows.


—          Evidence for or against targeted approaches to stylistic variation
—          General methods for differentiating style from semantics/topic
—          Interpretability of computational models of style
—          Use of classic stylistic features (e.g. function words, POS
n-grams) in classification
—          Effects of stylistic variation on downstream tasks
—          Stylometry
—          Authorship attribution
—          Stylistic segmentation/intrinsic plagiarism detection
—          Style in distributional vector space models (embeddings, etc.)
—          Stylistic lexicon acquisition
—          Text normalization
—          Domain adaptation (across stylistically distinct domains)
—          Modelling of demographics and personality
—          Politeness and other linguistic manifestations of social power
—          Quantification of genre differences
—          Stylistically-informed sentiment analysis (e.g. sarcasm, hate speech)
—          Readability, complexity, and simplification
—          Learner language (e.g. fluency, use of collocations, stylistic
appropriateness, etc.)
—          Style-aware natural language generation
—          Identifying trustworthiness and deception
—          Literary stylistics (author and character profiling)
—          Rhetoric (e.g. stylistic choice in political speeches, etc.)
—          Stylistic features for diagnosis of mental illness
—          Style in acoustic signals (e.g. speaker identification)
—          The challenges of annotating style


In addition to regular long (8 pages + references) and short papers (4 pages
+ references) presenting new research, we are also soliciting papers of up to
long-paper length (though potentially much shorter) for a special session of
lectures allowing for re-exploration of existing work from a more general
stylistic perspective.

Invited Speakers:

Walter Daelmans (University of Antwerp)
Ani Nenkova (University of Pennsylvania)


Submissions Deadline: June 2
Acceptance Notification: June 30
Camera-Ready Due: July 14
Workshop date: September 8


Julian Brooke (University of Melbourne)
Thamar Solorio (University of Houston)
Moshe Koppel (Bar-Ilan University)

Program Committee:

—         Shlomo Argamon (Illinois Institute of Technology)
—         Tim Baldwin (University of Melbourne)
—         Yves Bestgen (Université catholique de Louvain)
—         Dasha Bogdanova (Dublin City University)
—         Alberto Barron Cedeno (Qatar Computing Research Institute)
—         Walter Daelemans (University of Antwerp)
—         Jacob Eisenstein (Georgia Tech)
—         Roger Evans (University of Brighton)
—         Lucie Flekova (Technische Universität Darmstadt)
—         Alexander Gelbukh (Instituto Politécnico Nacional)
—         Rachel Greenstadt (Drexel University)
—         Adam Hammond (San Diego State University)
—         Graeme Hirst (University of Toronto)
—         Dirk Hovy (University of Copenhagen)
—         Eduard Hovy (Carnegie Mellon University)
—         Diana Inkpen (University of Ottawa)
—         Mike Kestemont (University of Antwerp)
—         Ekaterina Kochmar (Cambridge University)
—         Shibamouli Lahiri (University of Michigan)
—         Annie Louis (University of Edinburgh)
—         Manuel Montes-y-Gomez (Instituto Nacional de Astrofísica, Optica y
—         Francisco Rangel (Autoritas Consulting, S.A.)
—         Ellie Pavlick (University of Pennsylvania)
—         Martin Potthast (Bauhaus-Universität Weimar)
—         Paolo Rosso (Universitat Politècnica de València)
—         Jan Rybicki (Jagiellonian University)
—         Horacio Saggion (Universitat Pompeu Fabra)
—         Anders Soegaard (University of Copenhagen)
—         Lucia Specia (University of Sheffield)
—         Stathis Stamatatos (University of the Aegean)
—         Benno Stein (Bauhaus-Universität Weimar)
—         Joel Tetreault (Grammarly)
—         Oren Tsur (Harvard University)
—         Sandra Uitdenbogerd (RMIT University)
—         Sowmya Vajjala (Iowa State University)
—         Marilyn Walker (UC Santa Cruz)
—         Wei Xu (Ohio State Unversity)
—         Marcos Zampeiri (University of Cologne)

Website: [1]

Read more:


Об авторе Лидия Пивоварова

СПбГУ - старший преподаватель, University of Helsinki - PhD student
Запись опубликована в рубрике Конференции. Добавьте в закладки постоянную ссылку.

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *